2/24 Coding

Pretty much anything in our day-to-day lives that displays information to us, is built upon countless lines of code. Whether we are shooting off an email to the boss, or checking the latest celebrity tweets when we should have been working, code is the backbone of our modern, technological world. It is this prevalence that leads me to believe that maybe this is something we should start teaching our children in school. Coding can be a valuable asset to anyone, as it provides a core understanding of just how all this information is displayed to us,

Digital marketers of any experience level would benefit greatly from even a basic understanding of common Internet coding formats. Even just basic HTML and CSS knowledge will help the marketer to see how webpages and advertisements are presented to their audience. That same knowledge can help the marketer to make their page or ad more visually appealing, increasing their effectiveness. Marketers who are code-savvy could also more easily integrate analytic tools into their websites or ads. Perhaps even A/B testing could be incorporated into a webpage using some code that delivers different versions of your page, based on developer determined factors such as geographic location or the page the visitor came from.

Codeacademy

Prior to being prompted to use Codeacademy.com for this class, I had a little bit of coding experience thanks to the days of myspace and more recently via online forums. However the code I used on forums was aided greatly by the forum software, so for the most part I am still a coding beginner. I had always been interested in learning how to code, and I have known about Codeacademy for a while, but I never took the plunge and actually started to learn. I’m glad this class forced me to actually take that first step.

I spent a couple hours on Codeacademy, dipping my toes into the world of HTML and CSS, and in that time I was able complete HTML Basics I & II, Build Your Own Webpage and Social Networking Profile. The time flew by because CA makes the courses very easy to follow and learn from, with plenty of reinforcement of what you are learning through repetition, but not so much that it became tedious. The topics, pictures and examples they use in the tutorial are also pretty entertaining which helps to keep your interest. They also allow you to write whatever you want for your code, which also helps to keep you interested because you are coding about something you care about.

Overall I greatly enjoyed the time I spent on Codeacademy, and I plan on continuing through the lessons as I was left with a longing to keep going. I’m sure coding gets much more intense the further you get into it but I’m not really worried because Codeacademy makes it so easy to learn code.

Chemical and Wetware computing

With Moore’s law still holding strong after over 30 years, computer engineers are looking for a viable alternative to traditional silicone chips. The Nautilus article listed some possible alternatives derived from nature such as chemical and wetware computing.

To me, neither seems like they are quick or efficient enough to outright replace our current computer chips, but I can see some potential uses for both in conjunction with our current chips. Chemical computing could be useful in the field of chemistry as it uses chemical reactions to carry out its processes. I could see this being used in a machine that takes in chemical samples, processes them based on several factors, and outputs several situations based on the reactions that took place.

Wetware computing could be useful in the medical field, perhaps in a machine that takes in a single blood sample and checks it for various different attributes. Allowing patients to have less blood drawn at a time, and give doctors a faster way to diagnose blood borne illnesses.

